Peace Corps, peace corps response

I’ve Been Moved

During the opening ceremony on 6/15/15 I was moved to tears twice.  The first time was when a chorus group of 3rd graders sang the St. Lucian national anthem.  I was touched because it felt personal; they were singing to welcome me to their country.  The children were sweet, melodic, and so adorable.  Take a listen…

Watching and listening to them was a realization point for me.  I was really in a different country and I was truly a part of the Peace Corps!!  How did this happen?  How did I get here?  It even chokes me up right now as I write.

Alvina Reynolds, children who sang for us at the opening ceremony, and I on 6/15/15.  Taken at the multi-purpose center in Babonneau, St. Lucia

Front row: children who sang for us at the opening ceremony.  Back row from L to R:  PCV Shelby, Me, Chorus instructor, PCV Mary, and PCV Brenda.  Taken on 6/15/15 at the multi-purpose center in Babonneau, St. Lucia

Tears welled up for a second time when parliamentary representative, Alvina Reynolds, welcomed us to our service.  She quoted John F. Kennedy, whom I’ve always admired, and it hit me in the heart:  “Ask not what your country can do for you; ask what you can do for your country.”  I had this very quote on a t-shirt when I was 15 yrs old working for Cove Pizza in Coventry, CT!

Much to my surprise, JFK started the Peace Corps.  His public service message from the 1960’s is still extremely relevant today.  I will leave you with this inspiring call to service of bringing peace to the world.  How will you do your part?  Here’s the video clip…

Stay tuned…because I’m not sitting on the sidelines of life.

~Brie Messier, MBA

Standard

Leave a Reply

