eastern caribbean travel, Peace Corps, peace corps response, singles travel adventure

Nature’s #1 Spa (= Volcano)

In the belly of a volcano, called Sulphur Springs, lays the best, natural Jacuzzi and spa that I’ve ever encountered.  Not only did I experience mother nature in a whole new way but I was able to experience the “world’s ONLY drive-in volcano!”

sulphur springs sign

Leading up to the adventure was mysterious.  I’d never been remotely close to a volcano before.  Granted, the idea of being in sulfur smelling waters, mud wasn’t overly appealing.  But what the heck…I’m on an adventure, right?!  I remember vividly visiting my sister, Holly, in Florida and her water had a sulfur, rotten egg smell  which was almost too much to bear.  I thought, “Oh, please, don’t let it be that bad!”

The volcano is located in the beautiful town of Soufriere, which is about 30 minutes from my home.  Many, if not all, St. Lucia resorts have trips to Sulphur Springs.  It’s a wonder for sure yet can be incredibly dangerous as people have died from falling in.

The volcano has a safety barrier to help prevent accidents.  Notice the smoke as it rises.

The volcano has a safety barrier to help prevent accidents.

It was incredible to see smoke rising from the depths of this volcano and I was in it!

As we drove through the volcano we could see the heat and steam rising from within.  This was taken from the car.

As we drove through the volcano we could see the heat and steam rising from within.  This was taken from the car.

The locals know the earlier you arrive the more enjoyable the springs will be.  As the day progresses, the water gets unbearably hot.  By 5:30a we were soaking in the hot, muddy volcanic waters.

relaxing in the hot sulphur springs.  It was about Jacuzzi temp, approximately 102 degrees.

Relaxing in the hot sulphur springs. It was about Jacuzzi temp, approximately 102 degrees.

soon you aren't going to be able to seeeee meeee...

soon you aren’t going to be able to seeeee meeee…

For the good mud you’ve got to scrape it up from the corners where it’s softer.  The grittiness was wonderful for exfoliating!  In the US I’d pay a few hundred dollars for this mud treatment.

It's on like donkey kong...I'm getting muddy!

It’s on like donkey kong…I’m getting muddy!

Where’s Brie?  Oh, wait…there I am!  I was on a mission to cover myself completely with Verna’s help.  Did I mention I work with Verna at St. Jude Hospital?

Verna and I after we are nearly covered by mud.  Notice the

Verna and I after we are nearly covered by mud.   Notice the “no entry” sign; the closer we got the hotter it was.  Beyond the sign it was no longer safe.

Verna taught me the mud has healing properties and for best results, leave the mud on for at least 10 minutes.  Sound familiar ladies and gents who do facials at home?  She described feeling lighter, rejuvenated whenever she departs from here.  I must agree, I felt wonderful!

People pay hundreds of dollars in the US for a mud wrap and this was free for me.  I was silky smooth afterward.  Best exfoliation!

I was silky smooth afterward.

Soon, droves of people were arriving therefore the peacefulness was cut short.  We spent a few more minutes there then I rinsed off and we made our way down, out of the volcano.

A tranquil pool

A tranquil pool

A stream meanders through the volcano!

A stream meanders through the volcano!

One of the last majestic sights was the Gros Piton so of course I had to snap some pictures.  As of now, I plan on tackling that bad boy.  It may take me five hours to climb it but who cares.  I can say I did it!  Before long I  was back at home, in bed by 7a sleeping away the rest of the morning.

as we drove down and out of the volcano we  could see the Gros Piton in the distance.  Crazier still ...people LIVED in this volcano!

as we drove down and out of the volcano we could see the Gros Piton in the distance. Crazier still …people LIVED in this volcano!

View of Gros Piton from Sulphur Springs

View of Gros Piton from Sulphur Springs

Stay tuned because….I’m not sitting on the sidelines of life.

Other blogs you may be interested in:

-David: http://kuribbean.blogspot.com/

-Bash: http://www.bashhalow.blogspot.com/

-Kate: https://everywhereismydestination.wordpress.com/

-Chris: https://cannitopeacecorps.wordpress.com/

-Shelby: https://shelbyec.wordpress.com/

-Anna: https://hobbsseehobbsdo.wordpress.com/

-Mary: http://www.theknockabout.org/

-Alan: http://www.pcinec.net/

-Erin: http://pceasterncaribbean.blogspot.com/

~Brie Messier, MBA

Note:  The contents of this website are mine personally and do not reflect any position of the U.S. government or the Peace Corps 

Standard

2 thoughts on “Nature’s #1 Spa (= Volcano)

  1. Stacey says:

    Wow – now that’s a morning adventure…it reminds me of the old Army ad, “we do more before 7am then you do all day”. You are NOT living on the sidelines of life. Best. Tagline. Ever.

    Like

Leave a Reply

